Skip to content

day 2: i can make ugly cards with my own two hands.

February 3, 2011

You know those people who were just put on the earth to be parents? They have a way about them — buckets of patience, a hopeful world view, a belief in the good.  Pre-children, they can be found building elaborate sand castles on the beach with their nieces, or teaching tumbling, or knitting wee sweaters.  They understand terminology like “choking hazard” and “Yo Gabba Gabba” before ever having kids of their own.  They volunteer to babysit for free.  They buy this Uncommon Goods onesie (below) for your newborn and they are not being ironic.

UncommonGoods.

I work with one such woman.  In so many ways, she makes clear the fact that she will be a fantastic mother (and while we are not personal friends, I imagine she’s a great one of those, too).  She is always throwing elaborate parties, going on fun beach vacations with her family, and looking adorable and effortless while doing it.  Her office is populated with photos of other people’s children who smile into the camera with their arms draped lovingly around her neck.  In her job (which is stressful) she navigates hurdles with Martha Stewart’s attention to detail and Bob Ross’ smile.  Others (including me) fling haplessly around while she remains the serene eye of the storm.

It seems only fitting that she is pregnant with triplets.

Let’s face it — even the love child of Martha Stewart and Bob Ross could use a little help preparing for three infants at once.  Enter Christopher Gavigan’s Healthy Child, Healthy World, a book recommended to me by my dear friend Meg when I was expecting my second child.  Without scaring the bejesus out of me, this book offered practical, realistic advice about achieving the safest environment possible for a new life.

I swear I will practice taking better pictures.

At the office last week, I was singing the praises of this book to Ms. Pregnant with Triplets, and she expressed sincere interest in it and an uncharacteristic trepidation about preparing for her babies’ arrivals.  I realized as I woke up this morning that Day 2’s gift would be my own copy of Healthy Child, Healthy World, wrapped up in pretty paper and delivered to Ms. PWT’s home.  Because I have an entire box of scrapbooking supplies and have never actually, uh, scrapbooked, I thought it would be nice to make a really ugly card to accompany the gift.

See? I wasn't being self-deprecating. It's truly hideous.

I’m not sure this photo captures the nuances of this card, but please note the off-center green brad, the multicolored glitter, and the crooked ribbon (in my defense: 1) I couldn’t find a greeting card at Hallmark that adequately commemorated this occasion, and 2). the recipient of my gift is far too nice to notice how ugly the card is).  Because the book and revolting card are in the mail to Ms. PWT, you will have to wait with bated breath to hear about her response to the gift.

In the meantime, though, I think you should listen to Jack Johnson and Ben Harper singing “My Own Two Hands.”  As any parent knows, finding music you can enjoy alongside your children can be challenging.  While I’m fortunate that my kids rock out to the Avett Brothers and the Wailin’ Jennys, they also love the Curious George soundtrack which includes this song, with lyrics so sweet I can listen to it over and over again without wanting to bang my head repeatedly against the steering wheel.

Enjoy it, make peace on earth, and thanks for showing up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    February 5, 2011 2:52 pm

    I’m so flattered by the shout out!!!! Hope Ms. Pregnant with Triplets finds it as enlightening as we did. Wow. Triplets.

Trackbacks

  1. day 29: lavender blue, dilly dilly « a gift a day

Leave a Reply

