Skip to content

a sudden, mortifying thought

February 6, 2011

It occurred to me today that this blog may have a “check me out — I’m a giver!” tone to it.

The idea that I created a blog to toot my own horn makes me shrivel in mortification.  That is absolutely not my intention.  My 90 day experiment in giving is an opportunity to learn, in an authentic way, the meaning of graceful giving and receiving.  I’m quite sure I’ll screw it up along the way (I already have) and I promise to document my trip, missteps and all.

Thanks for indulging my self-doubt.  For your time, I give you a self-aggrandizing Homer Simpson:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 6:22 pm

    If the thought is that you’re failing at something that only you noticed, …Where exactly does that leave you?

    • February 8, 2011 7:57 pm

      great point. i think i am left with the realization that i could destroy my best efforts with over-analysis. hate it when i do that. 🙂

  2. February 9, 2011 1:26 pm

    Me too. I know the whole point of self discovery is supposed to be you realize that you aren’t nearly as bad as you’ve been told/ you thought-

    However, if the only person I can disappoint is myself rather than let others down, it’s me that’s under the bus all the time.

    Self analysis is great, just don’t let it rule the school!

Trackbacks

  1. day 6: and I just want my words to be true « a gift a day

Leave a Reply

