Skip to content

day 9: me fine

February 10, 2011

My approach to giving on Day 9 didn’t exactly burn the house down with its originality, I’ll admit, but it got the job done.

Day 9 was chockablock with meetings at my office.  Okay, I admit it, I just wanted to use the word “chockablock.”  There it is again.  Chockablock.

Earlier this week, the mother of one of my colleagues passed away after a long illness.  A colleague offered to send flowers on behalf of our agency, so on my way to the office I stopped for cash (do any of you still carry cash?  other than the odd coin at the bottom of my purse, I pretty much never have it) in order to make my contribution.  I heard the siren song of the Starbucks right next to the cash machine, so forked over two bucks for a cup of coffee I could’ve made myself at home.

At a stoplight on the way to work, I saw a new guy holding a new sign requesting money (I’m still not sure where Mike has gone).  His sign read, “No B.S. — I’m just broke.”  Remembering that, for once, I had cash in my wallet, I rolled down the window and passed the guy a few bucks.  “I’m just being honest,” he said, folding the money into his pocket and jiggling his cardboard sign.  “I’m not going to make up some sob story about why I’m out here.”

Arriving at my office, I immediately gave my ten dollar contribution to the flower fund (so I wouldn’t leave the office without doing so, which is my usual forgetful habit), and walked into a meeting with my student intern.

Spread across the conference room table were raffle tickets and a brochure with a toddler’s beaming, towheaded visage staring back at me.  “My honor society is selling raffle tickets to raise money for this foundation,” she said, gesturing toward the brochure.  “It provides financial assistance for parents of children being treated at Duke and UNC hospitals.”

The foundation is called Me Fine, and you can read all about it here.  After you do that, you can thank God that your own children are healthy.  Next, you can open up your wallet and give whatever cash remains to support families of children who aren’t.  Then, you can kick yourself for buying a two dollar coffee at Starbucks this morning.

Or, anyway, that’s what I did.

At the end of Day 9, my husband and I attended an event called Ignite Durham with friends.  This website can describe the event far better than I can, but it was a presentation by 14 different speakers, each of whom had 5 minutes to talk about their chosen topic.  Speech topics ranged from “How Not to be a Dorky Parent, ” to “Where Have all the Honeybees Gone?”, and the event was nothing short of inspirational.  My favorite speaker was Mur Lafferty, a local writer whose talk was entitled “How to Write a Book Even if You have a Real Life.”  Check out her website here.

Day 9 was fine.

Now, though, I have to get back to my real life.  As always, I want to thank you sincerely for showing up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 3:09 pm

    Annie,
    I am loving this blog. Forget the Mo’s – they ain’t got nothing on you.

Leave a Reply

