Skip to content

day 12: the gifts of imperfection

February 13, 2011

Have you heard of Brené Brown?

I hadn’t until the past year, and through some combination of serendipity and social networking I began reading her blog.  Brené is a research professor at the University of Houston in the Graduate College of Social Work (yea, social work!).  Among other things, she researches and writes about vulnerability, authenticity, courage, and shame (for her full bio, look here).

What initially appealed to me about Brené’s work was its utility — regardless of socioeconomic status, gender, religion, or race, everyone can identify with feeling vulnerable or with craving courage.  I also really enjoy her writing style, which is both accessible and smart.  Her site, as you will see when you visit it, is gorgeous… if I didn’t know any better, I would feel ashamed of my own homely little WordPress blog with its sad cameraphone photos.

The authenticity badge below offers a hint of what the rest of her site looks like:

So, on to my Day 12 gift.

I’ve finally gotten around to ordering Brené’s latest book, The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are.  If you need to read this book half as desperately as I do, leave a comment at the end of this post letting me know you want it.  I’ll send you Brené’s book just as soon as I am finished with it, so make sure I have your email address to get your contact info.  If I get more than one comment, I will judiciously choose a name at random.  Non-winners (of this drawing, not in life — you are all winners!) can order their own copies here.

Hope you have a perfectly imperfect day.  Thanks for showing up, yet again.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    February 17, 2011 5:32 pm

    Sounds like an awesome book, but I don’t think I should qualify as I have been the recipient of many gifts from you already!

  2. Anita Schimizzi permalink
    February 22, 2011 2:08 pm

    What a wonderful gift. If it is still available, I’d love to have it passed on when you finish it. Thank you! By the way, I so enjoy your blog.

    • February 22, 2011 7:58 pm

      Thanks so much for your comment, Anita. I just sent you an email requesting your mailing address. I think you will love this book! Take care.

Trackbacks

  1. day 85: to s « a gift a day

Leave a Reply

