Skip to content

day 16: what is your status?

February 17, 2011

Ah, Facebook.

When I joined Facebook three years ago, I thought it was the coolest thing since the immersion blender (what can I say?  I love my immersion blender).  Suddenly people I hadn’t thought of in years emerged out of the internet ether, smiling from photos, older or thinner or blonder than I remembered them.  Every time I logged on to my Facebook account, I felt like I was being given the gift of a rekindled friendship.

The real Mark Zuckerberg. Have you seen "The Social Network?"

Of course, there is a shadow side of sunny Facebook land.  First and foremost, it can be an immense time waster (when I first started using it, I would set a fifteen minute timer on my watch to keep myself from getting sucked into Pamela’s 3rd Birthday Party Pictures… after all, I had no idea who Pamela was). Secondly, it’s a platform for those trying to sell something I don’t want — whether it’s scented candles, political rhetoric, or the construction of a make-believe life.  Thirdly, it sometimes provides me with far more information about my “friends” than I desire.  Just this morning, an old camp friend posted no fewer than three status updates about a concerning rash.  Another childhood friend enjoys sharing with the world what an expletive-expletive-expletive her boyfriend is. 

Um, I think I would prefer the constructed, make-believe life, now that I mention it.

For me, the benefits of  Facebook outweigh the downsides, though, and I continue to visit it, primarily to see pictures of far-flung friends and relatives.

Two days ago, an old friend from work posted a typo-filled status update that she had broken her right hand.  She asked if anyone could help her with meals for her young son.

Miss FB Friend, mind you, is someone I haven’t seen in about four years.  She and I worked together at a job that can only be described as soul-sucking, and her humor was one of the things that made the long days bearable.  She is a single mother to a five year-old son and has no family in the area.  When I imagined her trying to care for him single-handedly (literally), I knew I had found Day 16’s gift.

Through some serious coordination with which I will not bore you, I managed to get this meal to Miss FB Friend:

Veggie Mexican lasagna, salad, cookies on an ugly pan, wine

My sons drew pictures for her little boy, painstakingly spelling out his name.  They were so excited to give them away.

Will Miss FB Friend find it a little weird that a work friend she hasn’t seen in years made dinner for her?  Perhaps.  Do I care?  Not at all.  Hey, she put out a call on Facebook that didn’t involve weird rashes or selling candles.  How could I resist?

Hope you practice using your non-dominant hand today.  Thank you, friends, for showing up.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Hawley permalink
    February 17, 2011 9:18 am

    you better open that bottle for her before you leave! LOL

    • February 17, 2011 10:41 am

      leaving it unopened was my way of saying, “alcohol and painkillers don’t mix.” 🙂

      • Melissa Hawley permalink
        February 17, 2011 12:06 pm

        oh, yeah, good plan. forgot she had that going on, too!

  2. Melissa Hawley permalink
    February 17, 2011 9:19 am

    and BTW, the meal looks delicious. I’m sure she will be thrilled. what a great gift.

Leave a Reply

