Skip to content

day 21: tick, tock

February 22, 2011

Friends have commented on the fact that much of my activity on this blog occurs before six o’ clock in the morning.

Sometimes my reward for getting up early is a sky like this:

Other times, the reward is just a clearer head and a more grateful perspective.

Without my morning silence, I am cantankerous.

From Day 1, I’ve forced myself to approach this “a gift a day” project with a “think small” attitude.  While the temptation exists to plan out my gifts in advance, to insure a varied and interesting schedule of giving, I want to experience this project in a more organic way.  I try to wake up each morning and ask myself, “What will I give today?”

On Day 21, I took a while to respond.

Day 21 was a rare holiday for my husband and a day with no preschool or child care.  My husband has been working particularly hard lately, and I wanted to give him an opportunity to relax at home.  I took the kids to the science museum for a few hours, followed by lunch, to give him a chance for some peace.

Late in the afternoon, I commented to my husband that Day 21’s gift was refusing to present itself to me.  The sun was about to set and I still hadn’t given my gift.  I was antsy and irritable.

He thanked me for taking the children to the museum and for giving him space and time alone.  “I can’t remember the last time I had a day with no obligations, plenty of sunshine, and a quiet house,” he said.

Oh, yeah.  I am supposed to be thinking small.

I, too, am so thankful to have the space and time to think.  Today I am far from cantankerous.

Today, I hope you have all the time you need.  Thanks for showing up with me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

