Skip to content

day 26: backpack buddies

February 27, 2011

Nearly 20% of children in my county live below the poverty line.  While many get free lunches at school during the week, weekends often find them hungry.

I don’t know about you, but I get surly if I go more than a few hours without eating.

BackPack Buddies is a North Carolina program that provides children living in poverty with enough food to last through the weekend.  Teachers, administrators and social workers refer students to BackPack Buddies’ on-site coordinator.  Once in the program, each child reports to the coordinator’s office every Friday afternoon to pick up his or her backpack filled with six meals and two snacks. The children return their empty backpacks on Monday morning, and the cycle continues for the entire school year.

What a simple, beautiful concept this is.  Donate three shelf-stable milk boxes, two cans of meat or beans, one can of fruit, two cans of veggies, two packets of oatmeal, two packages of noodles, two snacks, and two juice boxes and a child won’t go hungry next weekend.

Day 26’s gift is, as you might guess, a backpack full of food for a child in need.  Many of the requested items already populate my pantry, so this almost feels too easy.

Just a small section of my pantry door

If keeping a child fed over the weekend is this simple, I need to be doing more.

I hope today finds you warm and well-fed.  Thank you for showing up with me.

You’ve probably already seen the video below as it’s been making the internet rounds.  I never get tired of watching it, though.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aimee permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:20 am

    I thought I read two cans of beer instead of beans!!! Well, that’s what I would want in my weekend back pack 🙂

    Love your blog– you are such a sweet soul!

    Aimee

    • March 3, 2011 10:35 am

      thank you so much — I just had a good laugh over this. I am also glad to get this information, as I couldn’t figure out a good gift for you. a backpack full of natty light is on its way. keep those photos coming — they are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

