Skip to content

day 29: lavender's blue, dilly dilly

March 2, 2011

One of my sisters-in-law is a brilliant naturopathic doctor with a thriving private practice.  While she is generous with her knowledge, she rarely offers unsolicited advice.  Two exceptions I can recall?  NO artificial sweeteners and NO dryer sheets.

The “no artificial sweeteners” rule is pretty much a no-brainer.  Creepy chemicals that fool one’s body into thinking it is enjoying something natural and delicious just can’t be okay.  If I still had my copy of Healthy Child, Healthy World, I could probably look up why dryer sheets are also verboten, but a quick web search reveals scary words like “benzyl acetate,” “benzyl alcohol,” and “limonene.”  I do remember that whatever it is that makes dryer sheets smell like a lovely citrus orchard or a field full of roses can also give you cancer.

Yes, I know.  Pretty much everything can give you cancer.  But dryer sheets and artificial sweeteners are two things I can avoid without too much suffering (unlike coffee, which was a recommendation once offered after I solicited advice).

One thing I miss about dryer sheets is the way those carcinogenic chemicals made our clothes smell.  Opening up a warm dryer, releasing the waft of flowers or ocean breezes, made me feel like one of those happy housewives in the Bounce commercials.  I am the only woman in a houseful of males (dog included), and I appreciate clean, fresh scents.

Enter these:

Lavender.is.delicious.

I doubt you can read the label on this package, but these are small reusable bags filled with dried lavender (from Trader Joe’s).  You put them in your dryer for 5-10 cycles, lightly scenting your clothes without barraging your family with unnecessary chemicals.  After 5-10 cycles, you can sprinkle the lavender on your rugs and vacuum it up, scenting your home with the same relaxing lavender aroma.

One caveat:  these are not yet Heights of Health-approved, so I’ll have to wait for my sister-in-law to weigh in with her opinion, but the only ingredients are dried lavender and the little bag it lives in.

Who wants to try one of these?  Shoot me a comment below, and I will send a lavender-scented lovely your way.  I have 3 to share, but when these are gone I plan to make my own using muslin and dried lavender — seems easy enough, right?

I will be at the post office today anyway to mail off The Gifts of Imperfection, which I finished yesterday.  I loved it so much that I dorkily sent Brené Brown an email telling her so.  I hope you guys love it, too.

I wish you a lavender-scented, carcinogen-free day.  Thanks, as always, for showing up.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 7:45 am

    I do love me some lavender. You can send to someone else though b/c I am not sure I can wait. I might have to swing my TJ’s today!

  2. Melissa Hawley permalink
    March 2, 2011 7:57 am

    I don’t want to be a gift hog, but if 3 others don’t bite, I would LOVE to try one of those. We haven’t used dryer sheets in 10 yrs and I miss them dreadfully. xxoo

  3. Kris McL. permalink
    March 2, 2011 10:56 am

    Interested in trying this lovely lavender thingie 🙂 and worried about my Splenda addiction…

  4. Cindy Bohlin permalink
    March 2, 2011 12:45 pm

    It was meant to be seeing you over the weekend… or I would have missed your entire blog 😦 I love day 27… as you know, I need to read things like this more often. Thanks for you – inspiring as always. Going to start reading Gifts of Imperfection. along with days 1-27 of your blog and the rest of the posts as you go.

    • March 3, 2011 4:43 am

      Hi Cindy! So great to see you, too. Thanks for visiting me here :). I have an extra copy of the book if you want me to drop it off today — just let me know!

      • Cindy Bohlin permalink
        March 3, 2011 10:33 am

        ooh – i’d love that if you are over this way… but i can come pick up from you if not. thanks!either way, sign me up to borrow!

  5. March 3, 2011 11:11 am

    cindy, i bought 3 copies of the book because i wanted to spread it around… i’ll drop it by your house sometime today. i’ll text to see if you are home!

  6. Tracy permalink
    March 29, 2011 9:33 pm

    Ok, so I missed this one. Just have 5 minutes to breathe and trying to catch up. You are too generous – you don’t realize how much I have learned from you and your wonderful health journey. I bet the dryer sheets are perfect.

Leave a Reply

