Skip to content

day 46: goodnight moon

March 19, 2011

“I see the moon, the moon sees me

The moon sees somebody I’d like to see

So, God bless the moon and God bless me

And God bless the ‘Somebody’ I’d like to see.”

— Traditional lullabye

Unless you’ve been living under a rock (a rock with wireless access, of course, affording you the opportunity to read this blog), you’ve heard about the supermoon making its appearance this weekend.  The moon will be the closest it’s been to Earth in 18 years.  Did you see it last night?  Are you looking at it right now?  I can see it through my office window, and it is positively otherworldly.  It looks like something ripped out of a child’s book.

Speaking of chidren’s books, Day 46 found me on a mission to cull through the clutter that remains in my kids’ rooms.  My youngest recently abandoned diapers for good (oh, happy day!), at the same time eschewing all things “babyish.”  I interpreted this dismissal as an open invitation to spread the baby love, first making a donation of clothes and gear to Welcome Baby and then moving on to the riot of toys and books in his playroom.

I gathered up board books to donate, flipping through a few as I remembered my sons’ recent babyhood.  This one caught my attention:

Anyone who has ever had a kid, known a kid, met a kid, babysat a kid, or laid eyes on a kid has read Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown.  My older son learned to talk from listening to it, repeating “red balloon” over and over.  My youngest loved it so much he slept with it in his crib for several months.  My nieces used to recite the entire thing before bed every night.  It is a sweet, hypnotic bedtime tale with colorful illustrations.

Along with Baby Animals, My First Words, and several others, the Goodnight Moon board book will be donated to the Durham Public Library’s book sale.  The county library has been a godsend to us on rainy days that might otherwise find us plopped in front of the television.  I am eager to support it in any way possible.

I might, though, have to buy a hardback copy of Goodnight Moon for myself.  Is this cheating?

Have a super day and a supermoon night.  Thank you so much for showing up.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

