Skip to content

day 47: sunday=giveaway!

March 20, 2011

On Day 47 I did something I love but haven’t done in a really long time:

I went shopping.

A new friend invited me to an afternoon of lunch and shopping, and I jumped at the opportunity.  Over vegetarian sushi and ginger-dressed salads, we talked about our families, not doing yoga, and vacations we’d love to take.

Together, we walked in and out of countless shops, gesturing at mannequins and giggling at gold lamé pants.    While my children spent the afternoon outdoors with their father, I relished the chance to have an authentic conversation without consulting my watch.

I feel so grateful to have been invited on such a refreshing outing.  I want to remember how energizing the cultivation of new friendships can be.  I want to remember how much my friendships with other women matter.

As I shopped on Day 47, I noticed how many store mannequins sported scarves — around their waists, around their necks, around their heads — and silently lamented the many scarves I own but am too lazy to wear.

This seemed like the perfect opportunity for another Sunday giveaway.

One lucky commenter will receive an assortment of scarves from my collection.  Know they are in good condition because I am consistently unable to bring myself to wear them.

Leave a comment below saying you want my gently-used scarves by 2:00 p.m. tomorrow, and I will share them with a randomly selected winner.

Today I hope you are, in the words of Margaret Wheatley, “brave enough to start a conversation that matters.”  As always, thanks for showing up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 11:46 pm

    I want your gently used scarves! I am always sporting one when I leave the house…unless it’s an extremely warm summer day. Thanks for sharing your scarves!

    Amy // artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

Trackbacks

  1. day 56: what counts, and a new ugly craft « a gift a day

Leave a Reply

