Skip to content

day 52: danger hotties

March 25, 2011

The event I most looked forward to on Day 52 was part of a cherished tradition born ten years ago.

On Day 52, I attended a sacred meeting of the Order of the Danger Hotties, an esteemed organization for which I faithfully serve as secretary.

The Danger Hotties began with this:

sorry, but I don't think they make this style any more.

On a trip to the mountains, two founding members spotted this be-glittered tank top in the junior’s department of Belk.  Enchanted by the cheesiness of both its appearance and message, each bought a pink sparkly shirt.  The Danger Hotties  now known and loved by many (several?) was born.

In the beginning, our group was eight strong.  Attendance at monthly meetings (held most often at Chapel Hill’s West End Wine Bar) was compulsory.  I took my role as secretary seriously, jotting notes with a long, feathered pen about member news,  outlandish future plans (one of which involved creating a calendar as a fundraiser, although I can’t recall for what), and ideas shared by fellow Hotties.  In the beginning, we stayed out late, drinking wine and dreaming big and laughing a lot.  The day after a DH meeting, I would faithfully type my minutes and email them out to the group (sadly, I can find no electronic or physical record of these notes… I know they would be entertaining to read).  We took our group, if not ourselves, seriously.

Ten years later, we are five strong (although one of us, an oncology nurse, was called to work last night and will receive fifteen demerits for her unexcused absence). We’ve had eleven children among us since we began our society.  We’ve been through health crises and career changes and marriage and immeasurable loss.  We still laugh harder than anyone else in the room (last night, Durham’s West End Wine Bar), and Christina still can’t resist making Lucy blush with tales from the world of acupuncture (“Wait… you had to put needles where????”).  While we may not meet as frequently, our holiday gift exchanges remain legendary.

In matters big and small, we have each others’ backs…  even if our meetings rarely go past 9:30 these days.

My gift on Day 52 is what I believe to be the last remaining Danger Hotties shirt in existence (I’m pretty sure Courtney, my partner in bedazzled-tee-shopping, has gotten rid of hers).  Each of the remaining Hotties (even Cindy, off saving lives last night) will get a framed picture of the shirt.  One lucky winner, drawn at random, will receive the shirt itself.

Naturally, we’ll hold the tank top drawing at the West End Wine Bar in the very near future.  Attendance will be mandatory.  I’ll be the one with the feathered pen taking notes, so please tap me on the shoulder if our laughter disturbs you.

Happy Friday, guys.  I hope it’s nothing but red sparkles, red wine, and good friends.  Thank you so much for showing up.

P.S.  Lucy, my dear, I think you are the bomb.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita Schimizzi permalink
    March 25, 2011 8:33 am

    Who could pass up this opportunity? That shirt rocks!

    • March 25, 2011 9:38 pm

      Oh, Anita. You should see it in person. The photo really doesn’t do it justice. I will let you know soon!

  2. Lucy Falk permalink
    March 25, 2011 9:05 am

    YAY!!! Love it and love you!!! I hope I win 🙂

  3. Courtney permalink
    March 26, 2011 2:57 pm

    How could you doubt me so much as to assume that I had given the shirt away? I have that baby tucked safely in my dresser saved for that perfect occasion!

    • March 27, 2011 5:50 pm

      mea culpa — how could I have so misjudged you? so glad there is another dh shirt in existence after all!

Leave a Reply

