Skip to content

day 66: surprise, steve!

April 8, 2011

At the very beginning of this “a gift a day” project, I wrote, “One line or twenty, I will show up every day for at least 90 in a row to let you know how I am doing and whether giving really can change my world.”

Fair warning:  today my spirit is willing, but my brain is spent.  A week of commuting to Eastern North Carolina, coupled with long days lecturing large groups of people, has left this introvert tapped out.  I sit at my computer this morning, eyes dark-circled and two coffees in, looking forward to today.  Today, the only people I’ll lecture are small and/or related to me.

On Day 66’s commute, I was sick of listening to bad news on the radio.  I turned to slot #6 in my CD changer, firing up Mumford and Sons’ Sigh No More.  My niece T gave me this album for Christmas, and since then it has found a comfortable home in my car stereo.  So often when I listen to it, I think, “Steve would love this album.  I need to share it with him” and then I promptly forget to eject it from the CD player and pass it over to my husband.

Since we met over 14 years ago, music has played a starring role in my relationship with Steve.  From our early dating days, when we’d listen to Willie Nelson at the Backyard or Patty Griffin at UT’s campus theater, to last year when we saw the Avett Brothers in Raleigh, the shared experience of live performances has brought us closer. My idea of a perfect summer night is a starlit outdoor concert with my one-and-only.

So, when I got a text from my friend Amy on Day 66 saying “Mumford and Sons presale.  Want tix?”  I immediately and surreptitiously replied, “Yes, pls” between PowerPoint slides.

I know what you are thinking:  “Hmmmm… is this really a gift?  She’s going to the concert, too.  Seems a little self-serving if you ask me…”

You are absolutely right.  Since I am also a beneficiary of Day 66’s gift, I offer a bonus:  the first person to leave a comment on this post will receive my very own copy of Sigh No More.  I’m pretty sure you’ll love it, but here’s a wee sample:

If you like it, let me know.  I’d love to share it with you.

So, what I thought would be a one-line post turned into four hundred words.  I hope your day is similarly full of surprises, and thank you so much for showing up.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. steve permalink
    April 8, 2011 5:54 am

    Cool!

  2. ashton permalink
    April 8, 2011 6:52 am

    whoo-hoo! can i have it??

    • April 8, 2011 6:34 pm

      it’s all yours, lightning williams. listen to this album a few hundred times and i think baby girl will actually cry in a british accent.

  3. Anita Schimizzi permalink
    April 8, 2011 9:56 am

    As always, I look forward to reading your daily post. I wanted to thank you also for introducing me to Mumford and Sons. Very nice. As I have already benefitted from your generous giving, I am not posting to include myself in the drawing.

    • Anita Schimizzi permalink
      April 8, 2011 11:28 am

      BTW, if you create a Pandora Station for Mumford and Sons it’s really good!

      • April 8, 2011 6:34 pm

        thanks so much for the tip — I will try it!

Leave a Reply

