Skip to content

day 77: (original post removed)

April 19, 2011

I just hate a puzzle with missing pieces.

Alas, sometimes I just have to breathe deeply and embrace the empty places.

My original Day 77 post featured a few-sentence excerpt from a transformational novel of my youth (I cited its author, of course, and linked back to her Amazon page in my original post).  Upon seeing Day 77’s essay, a lovely reader asked for my permission to share my words with the novel’s author.  I readily granted my permission, seeing nothing wrong with what I had written.

This reader promptly received a curt response from the author’s agent, stating that I had published the excerpt without permission.  I immediately removed the post and responded apologetically, requesting permission to use the copyrighted material, but my request was denied.  I was advised by the agent not to re-post Day 77 — advice I humbly accepted.

You live and you learn.  While it’s never fun to have your hand slapped, I appreciate the lesson…  and I still adore the book.

Thanks for wondering why Day 77 disappeared.  Always, thanks for showing up.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Culbertson permalink
    April 19, 2011 6:54 am

    Anne if no one else wants that book I would like to have it or better yet read it and return it to you..

    Barb

  2. Dawn permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:07 pm

    Anne,

    I’ve already been the recipient of your generosity, so I don’t need the book. I just wanted to say thanks for writing about it. I didn’t know of it before I read your post, and now I’m going to check it out from the library. It sounds like a good one.

    Thanks!
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

