Skip to content

let’s get trivial

June 1, 2011

I’ll go ahead and get this first part said:

I am thrilled to be writing, with you reading, today.  You may know that after my 90 day a gift a day project, I took a wee hiatus while my blog underwent a cosmetic and directional transformation (she’s looking pretty cute, huh? a little color in her cheeks definitely helped).  For this makeover,  I wholeheartedly thank the talented Erin at Insight Blog Design for her responsive, intuitive work.  While gazing at my own grinning visage on the screen feels a little creepy and may take some getting used to, I am overjoyed to begin anew.

I mentioned earlier that this new blog, Chasing Maybes, would have a different focus than a gift a day.  It does.  It will also have a different pace.  While a gift a day was a sprint — ninety days of intense writing and digging deep and marrow-sucking — Chasing Maybes will be more like a five hour marathon.  I promise I’ll keep showing up, but I won’t post seven days a week. 


I constructed a gift a day back in February with the intention of learning to give meaningfully, openly, and without regret.  I wanted to document the daily practice of letting go, the rhythm of approaching each day with, “What shall I give today?”  Through that project I sought an endeavor — not a transformation, necessarily, but a shift — for which one major requirement was approaching my days differently.  In that way, Chasing Maybes is a gift a day’s younger, slower cousin.  I still want to stretch, but this time I’ll be using different muscles.

“Oh, geez,” you’re shaking your head, “what is she up to this time?”

It’s certainly not revolutionary, but one of my fundamental positions is that all the stuff we think is big is actually little.  All of the charted landscapes of belief, every breathtaking cathedral, every inspired work of art is just a series of trivial moments linked together like beads on a string.  The divine is the daily rhythm of the hammer or the paintbrush or the sail.  The divine is the showing up, not the grand gesture.

(This is what I tell myself, anyway, when I start to get overwhelmed).

So, then, what happens if I test this position?  What happens if I alter my rhythm, if I show up differently to the world in a few seemingly insignificant ways? What if the assumptions I’ve made about what I believe, how I operate, and what I love are untrue?

That’s what Chasing Maybes is all about: not believing everything I think, entertaining possibilities, and giving assumptions the full court press.

Here’s how this project will work:  Each month for the next six, I will embrace a theme and explore unfamiliar and/or challenging experiences related to said theme.  In preparation for this project, I struggled to come up with a list of neutral themes — categories naked of my bias.  Cleaning out the closet in my children’s playroom, I stumbled upon a seminal pastime of my youth.  I cracked open the faded blue box, ripped on one corner, and I picked up a card to remind myself of the six categories therein.

That’s right, folks: my themes are Trivial Pursuit categories.  Given the chase I’ve planned for myself and the minutiae in which I dwell, this seemed a poetic accident.  Over the next six months I’ll be chasing challenges in the areas of, in no particular order, Sports and Leisure, Entertainment, History, Arts and Literature, Geography, and Science and Nature.  I’ve got a feeling this is going to be fun, so I hope you’ll join me in the pursuit.

Here’s to a Wednesday wide open with possibilities.  Thanks, again, for showing up.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. ashton permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:16 am

    congrats! looks awesome and i can’t wait to enjoy it just like it did with a gift a day 🙂 xoxo

  2. Deb Cayer permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:19 am

    Hooray!! I’m so glad you’re doing this! Blessings!

  3. Anita Schimizzi permalink
    June 1, 2011 7:35 am

    Congratulations on the new website, Anne! I look forward to reading on.

  4. Mel permalink
    June 1, 2011 6:49 pm

    Beautiful new design! Gorgeous pic of you. Can’t wait to read on…you go.

  5. June 1, 2011 7:36 pm

    Thanks so much to all of you! I can’t wait to see what the future holds, and I so appreciate your encouragement.

  6. Dawn permalink
    June 2, 2011 7:53 am

    The site looks great. I’m so glad you’re back! I’m looking forward to whatever comes next in this new adventure of Chasing Maybes.

Trackbacks

  1. the power of negative space « Chasing Maybes
  2. Green, green, it’s green they say, on the far side of the hill…* « Chasing Maybes
  3. not ours anymore, and the nature of growing « Chasing Maybes
  4. a little on leisure « Chasing Maybes
  5. out with the same old « Chasing Maybes

Leave a Reply

