Skip to content

traveling mercies

July 26, 2011

Here’s the good news: we are on our way. We packed all the stuff we own into a Texas-bound moving truck yesterday. It was raining as we pulled out of the driveway, too late to make Atlanta, and headed to my sister-in-law’s outside of Charlotte. The good news is we are pointed in the right direction.

Less good?

1). Our car’s air conditioning appears to have died this morning. This wouldn’t have been so painful (with the windows down, the highway breeze kept us cool) except that
2). We’ve been at a complete stop on the highway for the past hour and
3). A bee just flew in through my open window and stung me. Also,
4). We left our cooler back at my sister-in-law’s house, hoping to give ourselves more legroom and planning on a moderate 3 hour drive.

So, with little else to do (other than sweat and watch my children sweat), I thought I would post in real time from my phone. I’m trying to sit in gratitude that our car was spared the disastrous accident up ahead. I’m sincerely grateful for our half tank of gas. I’m thankful for that wild bee who picked me to sting over my two sweat-drenched moppets.

I know we will start moving again soon, and I know tonight’s glass of wine will really hit the spot.

I wish for you a cool place to sit and a full tank of gas. Thanks so much for showing up.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucy Falk permalink
    July 26, 2011 12:09 pm

    Bless your heart – hang in there – we will miss you!!!

  2. Kris permalink
    July 26, 2011 1:26 pm

    thinking abut you all…

    • Kris permalink
      July 26, 2011 1:27 pm

      thinking about you all…

  3. Peggy permalink
    July 26, 2011 1:53 pm

    It will be worth it! The girls can’t wait to see their cousins 🙂

  4. steve permalink
    July 26, 2011 2:19 pm

    we made it to atlanta, somehow. getting a/c fixed now.

  5. July 27, 2011 2:20 pm

    I giggled all over again. So good to see you yesterday. Hope today’s travel is less adventurous!!

Trackbacks

  1. Green, green, it’s green they say, on the far side of the hill…* « Chasing Maybes

Leave a Reply

