Skip to content

coffee, spiders, and diamond planets

August 30, 2011

I don’t know about you all, but I’m still attempting — alongside my children — to adjust to our new school day routine. We are in week two of school, and I think I’ve finally figured out that waking my children by firing up the (excruciatingly loud) blender to make smoothies at 6:30 is actually superior to quietly entering their room and gently nudging them awake.  They seem to resent the passive-aggressive wake up call far less than the direct one.

I’m also trying to develop a comfortable writing and running routine.  While I am still working on finding that rhythm, I’ve accepted that writing in the early mornings isn’t a great fit with my son’s 7:45 school start.

I might have done some writing yesterday while both of my children were in school, but instead I impulsively asked another mother if she wanted to meet for coffee.  As it turns out, she and I are in very similar situations (she just moved here, her family is living in an apartment while they look for a house, she has little boys, she loves coffee…).  I really enjoyed talking with her, and I may have found a new favorite office-away-from home here.

So, I’ve been passive-aggressively blending, I’ve been adapting, and I have been socializing, but how have I been doing on my Science and Nature maybe-chasing?

Weeeeell, I did chase the most gigantic spider I have ever seen (seriously, it was Austin Nature and Science Center-worthy, and I am kicking myself that I didn’t take a photo of it) out of my kitchen yesterday.  I have spent more time than is probably healthy or recommended in all 112 degrees of this summer heat each day.  Stargazing?  Not so much.  More like falling into bed before ten and gazing at one page of my book (Tiger, Tiger by Margaux Fragoso; extremely well-written but so disturbing I might have to abandon it soon) before falling asleep.  Handstand practice continues, although I plan to apprentice under my seven year-old niece as she seems to know some tricks I do not (perhaps one of her tricks is being seven years old?).

I will say that in my daily sojourn through the world’s headlines, I now force myself to read science-related articles I would ordinarily pass by.  Over the past few days, I read these two news items:

1.  Seriously?  A planet made of diamonds?  I can totally get on board with that.

2.  The children of two of my friends have been diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes this year.  This sounds like promising news.

And with those two items, I’ll wish you a brilliant, healthy Tuesday.  Thanks, as always, for showing up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

