Skip to content

what I wore wednesday — #2

October 12, 2011

[Welcome to the latest installment of Chasing Maybes, a self-imposed challenge to live beyond my comfortable edges.  Join me on my experiential ramble through Trivial Pursuit categories.  While in October I’ll be chasing adventures related to history, today I take a brief digression and link up with Lindsey at The Pleated Poppy for What I Wore Wednesday.  Devised as an accountability strategy to get stay-at-home and work-at-home mothers out of their yoga pants and into cute clothes, this project challenges my fear and loathing of self-portraits.  Here goes nothing.]

Happy Wednesday, y’all, and welcome back to my second attempt at What I Wore Wednesday.  Today, I respectfully submit two photos of my ensembles for your perusal.

Outfit #1:  Worn to the dentist.  Yahoo.

yellow sweater -- Loft, tank top -- Old Navy, shorts -- American Eagle, shoes -- Adventure On

So, as I mentioned in my last post, we relished a rainy weekend here in Texas, which was accompanied by lower temperatures.  Anyone well-versed in a hot climate can tell you this:  sub-90 degree temperatures = sweater weather.  I wore this shorts-and-sweater combo yesterday as an attempt to navigate the climbing temperatures outside and the (predicted) Arctic air conditioning in my dentist’s office.  It served its purpose.

Outfit #2:  Out to dinner with family

jean jacket -- Abercrombie and Fitch, red dress -- Express, shoes -- F21, dance hands -- Ms. Angell, circa 1983

Outfit #2 was worn to an aforementioned celebration dinner for my niece.  I only realized as I was typing this photo’s captions that the outfit’s two major elements are at least a decade — maybe more — old.  This I know because: 1).  I haven’t had my senses assaulted by an Abercrombie and Fitch, with its pounding techno music and cologne-soaked ambiance, in at least 11 years, and 2).  I bought this dress for the rehearsal dinner of a friend who recently celebrated her 10 year anniversary.  The dress is a jersey knit wrap that has withstood fashion’s fickle tempers mightily (I think?).  The jean jacket has probably gone in and out of style a few times since I bought it, but I’ve never stopped putting it on.  Oh, and the shoes?  They are really high platform wedges that make me feel 9 feet tall.  They are way more comfortable than they look, and they don’t stand out nearly as much as I thought they did when I wore them.  Overall, a pretty easy evening ensemble.

A note on this week’s photos: 

If I look slightly less awkward and/or terrified in these pictures (dance hands in the second notwithstanding) than in last week’s, I have my dear husband to thank.  He was able to coax a genuine smile from me from behind the camera(phone), and for that I am grateful.

Here’s to another beautiful day of old things made new.  Thanks, as always, for showing up.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 8:57 am

    Love them both Annie! Yippee!!

    • October 12, 2011 8:23 pm

      i’ll have to sneak in some wet seal for alan in the coming weeks. stay tuned! can’t wait to see you 😉

  2. October 12, 2011 10:08 am

    I totally have things in my closet that are a decade old. Some staples you just keep, and I have a red dress like the one in the second outfit, I would never get rid of it! Love the yellow + stripes in the first shot, too.

    Here’s to making old things new! LOVE.

    • October 12, 2011 8:22 pm

      i always find it interesting to see what remains in my closet after five moves and a zillion closet purges. these babies have traveled a lot of miles! great to hear from you, megan 🙂

  3. Windy Taylor permalink
    October 12, 2011 10:44 am

    My thoughts: “I love that yellow sweater! Where did she get it?…. Loft? Wait a sec…. I HAVE that sweater!”

  4. October 12, 2011 11:05 am

    love the red dress and jean jacket!

  5. Kris McL. permalink
    October 12, 2011 2:54 pm

    Im also enjoying slowly seeing bits of the new home too – just a little bonus!

  6. October 12, 2011 8:11 pm

    Cute outfits! 🙂

  7. October 13, 2011 10:31 am

    Looking great, girl. Funny how you thought those shoes stood out so much when you were wearing them, but in the photo, they don’t at all. I always have the opposite problem! I see photos of myself later and think, “WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING?!”

    • October 15, 2011 12:57 pm

      thanks, iris. your comments always make me laugh! i was on the fence about the shoes, thinking they were just so craaaaazy. not at all, as it turns out :).

Leave a Reply

