Skip to content

what I wore wednesday — #6

November 9, 2011

[Welcome to the latest installment of Chasing Maybes, a self-imposed challenge to live beyond my comfortable edges.  Join me on my experiential ramble through Trivial Pursuit categories.  While in November I’ll be chasing adventures related to arts and literature, today I take a brief digression and link up with Lindsey at The Pleated Poppy for What I Wore Wednesday.  Devised as an accountability strategy to get stay-at-home and work-at-home mothers out of their yoga pants and into cute clothes, this project challenges my fear and loathing of self-portraits.  It is also a valuable lesson in perspective.]

Me:  “I’m not going to do a What I Wore Wednesday post today.  I just don’t feel like it.”

Husband:  (shrugging his shoulders) “Okay.”

Me:  (whining) “I’m just really tired.  I don’t feel like having my picture taken.  I haven’t felt like having my picture taken all week.  I’m not going to do it.”

Husband: (walking out of the kitchen) “Okay.”

Me: (sighing heavily) “Fine.  Just go ahead and take my picture right now.”

Which is what he did.  Which is why my kitchen chair is atop my kitchen table, lunchroom style, post breakfast-sweep.  Which is why I’m wearing no makeup and look 89 years old in this photo.  Which is why you can see both my dog (what’s up, Brodie!) and my still-bagged groceries in the background.

Jeans -- Target, flats -- Aerosoles via DSW, blouse -- JCPenney, tank -- Target.

But I said I would participate in WIWW through November, and, by God, here I am… under eye circles, crazy kitchen, and all.

So, you can’t see this blouse at all, but it has a purple/black/red peacock feather pattern.  I love it, and bought it a few years ago from JCP’s I Heart Ronson line.

Folks, that’s pretty much all I have to say about the look I’m sporting here.

Here’s to coming as you are — today and every day.  Thanks, as always, for showing up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily MacGregor permalink
    November 9, 2011 1:12 pm

    I think you look beautiful, maybe a little annoyed, but still beautiful!

Leave a Reply

