Skip to content

art? well, we’ll call it success.

November 15, 2011

[Welcome to Chasing Maybes. Here, I challenge my preferences and prejudices, one Trivial Pursuit category at a time.  During the month of November, I will be chasing maybes related to Arts and Literature, the brown pie piece.  Come on along, won’t you?]

There is a reason some people get paid to cut hair, to repair toilets, and to cook meals:  they are trained to complete those tasks.  Most of them go to school, study, and take exams.  Some receive certification or licensure in their chosen fields.  They do their work artfully.  Those people know what they are doing.

And then there are the rest of us; those of us who do a passable job in spite of ourselves.

I won’t call the haircut I gave Steve “art,” but I will call it acceptable.

Before: Perfectly handsome, just needing a bit of a trim.

I was extremely conservative as I began the haircut process, growing ever more brazen as I worked (I cut the back with clippers, which are pretty fun to use, and then used scissors on the top).  The greatest challenge, in my opinion, was blending the shorter back with the longer top, but I think practice will make, er, even more passable.  As I worked, I tried to remember the details of the semi-creepy instructive YouTube video I’d watched, cutting the hair section by section to keep the length even.  [Incidentally, I think next time I will follow the video’s advice and use a haircut cape — they are pretty inexpensive on Amazon.]

In the end, neither blood nor tears were involved, so that feels like success.

After: Who knew that a simple haircut could inspire this much joy?

I am just a little proud of myself.  My next victims clients will be smaller and likely less appreciative, but I plan to bribe them with lollipops.

Update: 

I know that I claimed that I’d be looking through my parents’ genealogy files while I was in my hometown last weekend, but I unintentionally lied.  Between sightseeing with the kids and running the Rock and Roll Half (which was fantastic, by the way), time just got the best of me.  I’ll be back at my parents’ house next week to try again.  I hope you weren’t hanging on the edges of your seats for that report.

Today, I hope you appreciate the art in the mundane.  Thank you, always, for showing up.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucy Falk permalink
    November 15, 2011 9:56 am

    steve’s expressions crack me up! Good job – I will send my kids down there to have you cut their hair – you can probably do better than Great Clips 🙂

    • November 16, 2011 6:59 am

      I know — don’t you love his face in each picture? priceless. I am crossing my fingers that my haircuts are better than the ten dollar version… wish me luck!

  2. aimee permalink
    November 15, 2011 7:48 pm

    Uh, why didn’t you tell me you had a new vocation! You could have given me a trim today. BTW, Steve’s before picture is eerily reminiscent of a mug shot photo!

    • November 16, 2011 7:00 am

      I love the “before” shot — pretty serious business. I’ll give you a quick cut Saturday night! I’ve been practicing my Dorothy Hamill this morning. I think it will look adorable on you.

  3. Meg permalink
    November 16, 2011 1:59 pm

    He’s so cute!

Leave a Reply

