Skip to content

friday highway inspiration

February 10, 2012

I received such a positive response from last week’s prompt writing exercise that I decided to try it again today. Full disclosure: I am typing this from my phone, mid-road trip. My post will probably have a few typos and a grammatical error or two. Still, I committed to posting on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Today is Friday, I hate eating my words,and I love checking in with you… so here I am.

Today’s prompt reflects the fact that I have spent much of today riding in a car. I decided somewhere outside of Lacassine, Louisiana that the next five billboards I passed would be my timed writing prompts. The billboards boasted the following phrases:

“It’s your turn to win”
“Adult Superstore”
“Cajun Tales”
“Get your aces in here,” and
“Foreclosure Affects the Entire Family”

Seriously. I couldn’t make this stuff up.
So, before Monday I will engage in another 30 minute timed writing exercise incorporating each of these billboards in its entirety.

What do you think? Would you like to do it, too? I’m considering setting up a link party so you can share your writing through my blog. The technology aspect intimidates me, but I think a virtual prompt writing group would be fantastic, nerdy fun. Stay tuned.

Wherever you are, I hope you are just rolling in good times. Thank you, always, for showing up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kris McL permalink
    February 10, 2012 7:09 pm

    You had me at Adult super…fantastic, nerdy fun!!

Leave a Reply

