Skip to content

top of the world

March 9, 2012

As I mentioned earlier this week, today I am linking up with the writing blog Write On Edge.  Prompted by WOE, I’ve agreed to write 300 words or less on the number one song on the U.S. charts the week I was born.

My song was the unflinchingly optimistic Carpenters’ tune, “Top of the World” (I dare you not to sing it out loud right now), and my response to the prompt is below.

*****

At once, something cracked wide open and she was aloft, buoyed by an absent wind.  Untroubled by the memory of rising, she skimmed above the scene; weightless, hovering.  Just everything was beautiful.  The landscape was on fire; each desiccated bush lit from within, pines blazing red and yellow, bright like torches but not consumed.  From above she felt all of it — every grain of dirt, each white rock — alive in the bones of her fingers.  She stretched forward, testing movement, and understood that she should be still.  How did she know she belonged to both creation and destruction?  Her neck pulsed, but there was no time for uncertainty or fear.  Her place was here, in the breathing, brutal sun.

There was no water here, not above or below.  Her brain buzzed with the emptiness.  It was hollowed-out, scooped clean, and burning like the untended pasture below her.  No water.

Suddenly, the impossible stirring of something alive.  The scent she might have missed before, the scratch of nails on dry dirt. Shimmering from behind the rocks, a flash of white fur.  A glaze of clear blue eyes.

“I knew you’d come for me,” she whispered, tasting air, allowing her eyelids to fall for the first time.

*****

Happy Friday, y’all.  I hope today finds you unflinchingly optimistic.  Thanks, as always, for showing up.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    March 9, 2012 1:16 pm

    Awesome.

  2. March 9, 2012 2:01 pm

    Hehehe. I had “Top of the World” too, but for different reasons. I love the imagery here. I had to exhale a breath I didn’t know I was holding. Well done!

  3. March 9, 2012 5:07 pm

    Breathtaking. Sucked me in immediately! Your words choices were mesmerizing. Almost hypnotic to read. Great job!

    • March 9, 2012 6:09 pm

      Thank you so much, Denise. I look forward to checking out your blog, as well! I appreciate you stopping by.

Leave a Reply

