Skip to content

red writing hood prompt — crossing the line

March 28, 2012

Happy Wednesday, folks.  I opted out of a Monday post this week due to: 1). my multiple Sunday posts about inadvertent authenticity, and: 2).  my genuine weariness of listening to myself prattle on, week after week (more on that later).

On Sunday, I was reminded of excellent professional advice I received as a newly-minted social worker: “Don’t ever write anything down you wouldn’t want to see printed in the newspaper.”  [Okay, so the advice might be a bit dated, but the gist is the same today.]  Truly, it’s one thing for me to quote  Brené Brown, to preach vulnerability and authenticity, and quite another for me to publish a note intended for my best friend on a public blog.  Unintentional authenticity, I suppose, doesn’t really count as authenticity.  Still, your responses to my mistake were generous.  Thanks for your emails, calls, and texts (and a shout-out to Steve for the lovely bracelet… I wonder what possessed him to bring me a gift?).

Shameless gift-grubbing occasionally works.

Speaking of past embarrassments, have you heard of Mortified?  Described as a “comic excavation of the strange and extraordinary things we created as kids,” this project features “adults sharing their most embarrassing adolescent journals, letters, poems, lyrics, plays, home movies, and art… in order to reveal stories about their lives.”  I am entirely fascinated.  If you are courageous enough to share your own photos or text, you can participate in Mortified’s online “Woe and Tell” exchange.  Please let me know if you do so.

But…  I digress.

This week, I’ll be linking up again with Write on Edge.  Friday’s prompt:

Frustrated with the justice system, private citizens are individually and collectively testing the waters of taking matters into their own hands. These laws, these groups have met with murmured words of approval and understanding, despite questionable methods and tragic circumstances.

This week we’d like you to write a fiction or creative non-fiction piece about a time someone crossed a line, legally or ethically. Explore the motivation of your character and possibly the consequences of his or her actions.

The word limit is 450, so come back Friday and share what you’ve written.

Because I’m getting a little sick of myself, beginning next week I’ll have a few new voices to share with you.  Stay tuned if you’d like to meet one of my smart, fearless friends whose life is an exercise in maybe-chasing.

No matter what waters you’ve crossed or how weary your voice is, I hope you’ll keep pushing.  I wish you a day overflowing with extraordinary and unexpected gifts.  Thanks, as always, for showing up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

