Skip to content

red writing hood prompt — MAKEOVER… WHEE (oh, and some other stuff)!

April 19, 2012

In keeping with recent tradition, this week I will be linking up with Write on Edge, an online writers’ community, by responding to this prompt:

It’s time for a change in outward appearance, be it a character, yourself, or someone in your life. In 500 words or less, write about a makeover of your choice (hair, clothes, makeup, facial hair for the menfolk), fictional or memoir/creative non-fiction. Let’s think about how physical appearance changes can affect the inner landscape.

I will be back tomorrow with my piece.  Anyone who knows me even a little knows I cannot resist a makeover, so  this should be fun.

Currently, my nightstand is exploding with books I can’t wait to read.  I am in nerd heaven.  I’ve just begun Model Home by Eric Puchner, recommended by a friend, and I am really enjoying it.  My book club is reading Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese, which I haven’t started yet but will soon.  Then, yesterday I was overjoyed to find this little beauty in my mailbox:

I do have a hot pink wireless mouse. In a houseful of boys, I take my pink where I can get it.

Steve had pre-ordered Let’s Pretend this Never Happened, the memoir by Jenny Lawson (a.k.a. The Bloggess) for me as a Valentine’s Day gift (he gets me!) and it arrived yesterday.   If you aren’t familiar with Jenny Lawson’s oddball wit, please hurry up and visit her blog (although, if profanity offends you, you might want to skip this one).  One of her most famous posts (and my favorite) features Beyoncé, the giant metal chicken.  Seriously.

Anyway, if you need me, I’ll be reading.  A lot.

What are you reading these days?

Here’s to the hilarious, the profane, and the made-over.  I wish you an interesting day, and thanks (as always) for showing up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 7:08 pm

    Just wanted to tell you “thank you” for introducing me to Jenny Lawson’s book and blog! I just finished “Let’s pretend this never happened” and it was so much better than the book I abandoned to read it.

Leave a Reply

