Skip to content

red writing hood prompt — core

April 25, 2012

Improbably, it is nearly summer.  I’m aware of the days careening by, in part, because the tadpoles we caught in our pond are growing legs.  Spindly and fragile, no bigger than kidney beans, they skid through the pond water we’ve gathered and devour the boiled lettuce we’ve prepared.  My firstborn turned six on Sunday, long-legged and swimming all by himself.  The days slide by.

In the midst of all of this, I do have a few things to share with you.  Remember my friend Katie, the feng shui practitioner and documentary filmmaker whom I profiled hereShe has begun a fundraising campaign on Kickstarter to finish her film, CarLess in L.A.  [If you are not familiar with Kickstarter, it is a funding platform for creative projects that works like this: Katie sets a goal for how much money she needs to raise and solicits donations for 30 days.  If she meets her fundraising goal by the deadline, the project is funded.  If she does not meet the goal, she receives none of the donations.]  Anyway, I think both the funding platform and Katie’s film are projects which encourage collectivity and creativity, both values I can get behind.  If you have an extra few bucks and feel inspired, donate to Katie’s project here.

This week, I’m linking up with Write on Edge again.  I’ll be responding to this prompt:

For this week, I’m giving you the word “Core.” You have 450 words to explore any meaning of the word in a work of creative non-fiction/memoir or fiction. Link up your responses on Friday’s post, and have fun!

core
noun

1 the earth’s core: center, interior, middle, nucleus; recesses, bowels, depths; informal innards; literary midst.
2 the core of the argument: heart, heart of the matter, nucleus, nub, kernel, marrow, meat, essence, quintessence, crux, gist, pith, substance, basis, fundamentals; informal nitty-gritty, brass tacks, nuts and bolts.

adjective

the core issue: central, key, basic, fundamental, principal, primary, main, chief, crucial, vital, essential; informal number-one. ANTONYMS peripheral.

I’ll be back on Friday with my 450 words.  I’ll try to stay present in whatever maelstrom whirls my way.

I hope whatever you are working on is growing legs or sprouting wings.  I hope your creativity lives in endless daylight; an early, unexpected summer.  Thanks for showing up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

